First Week Back

First Week Back

This week was an interesting week back, ending with me on a train to Wales. I had one last climbing session before my SPA training course in which I did a few lead climbs and some auto-belay climbs.

Diving

During the first session back it was a case of getting back to where I’d left off but my fear meant that I was a bit nervous to even do a front dive off the 5m. We focused mainly on front dives but started on something new this week- the take off prep for a reverse dive. I’m so happy to be starting on a new dive, it means I’m one step closer to finishing!

In my second session we started with jumps, I refused to go off the 10m because I just couldn’t face it again yet. I next moved on to front dives- I was going to go off the 7m but I wasn’t too confident without the bubbles so decided against it. When it came to the front somersaults I was fine off the 3m but when I moved up to the 5m my run up was sabotaging my take off and as a result I ended up twisting most of my dives. One of which was more like a barani than a front somersault. My back dives were also kinda crap because I wasn’t taking off properly, they were slow and short. I ended the session with more reverse dive take off preps.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gymnastics

In the first session I was really nervous about trying my front somersault again after my knee injury. I practiced my front handspring a bit but still haven’t been able to link the two together. I did some more standing back tucks and they were nice and high but I didn’t give them enough rotation. I played it safe with this session mainly because I was going climbing right afterwards.

During my second session I get over my mental block of the somersault. I just had to make my hurdle step into it long rather than high. Similarly with my handspring, but I still haven’t got the hang of joining those sadly. With my standing back tuck I started to do a few by myself again but because I don’t have enough power I’m not getting the height I’d like with it. I need to tuck tighter so that I can push out of it and hopefully land on my feet. I also started working on my back handspring again now that my back has recovered a bit. I wasn’t getting enough push with it either. My takeaway from the session was that I need to start doing strength training and conditioning.

 

Leave a comment